top of page

What makes you happy?


This year I decided not to make any resolutions and instead make some goals that will make me happy. Most the resolutions I have made have started off well and have been standard things like give up drinking, or drink less, eat healthy or have no chocolate. Are these things that make me happy? Hell no! If anything, I force myself into them because I feel I have to. So, this year I decided to make goals for me, for things that I want and make me happy.

We spend so much time thinking about what we don’t want we forget to focus on the things that we do want. It’s second nature to say what we don’t want, yet when people are asked what do you want some of them have no idea. It’s funny how we are all aware of what we do not want, but we struggle to really articulate what we want. A lot of people will say I just want happiness and peace. OK, but what gives you happiness and peace? Do you know?

We spend every day in the same routine going to work, running after children, cooking, cleaning, washing, every day is mapped out. Stop for a few moments and think about what it is you truly want. I read a post earlier this week stating we should make time for people who are important to us, and someone commented to list out all the reasons they couldn’t find the time. It made me sad for that person, sad that they just saw their life as chores and mainly had other people in their lives to please. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t please those that we love, but surly the person you should please first is yourself? For if you are not happy how will any of the other people around you be happy?

We are so good at being a Daughter, Sister, Mum, Wife, Professional when do you get time to be you? I know many of you will say the same as that post “I just don’t have the time”. So how about you make the time? Yes, it can probably be difficult, but is it really that hard to give yourself 30 minutes on a Sunday? We put things off saying next month, next year and by that time you are on your next life.

Everything you are responsible for is important and some of those things you cannot shy away from, that’s just life. But who is responsible for you? Yes, you are right, you! Yet you neglect yourself the most. I know life journeys are difficult and complicated for all of us in some way shape or form, but before it becomes too late, or before you get to the stage of regret, learn to make yourself happy. It’s not selfish in fact it is required if you are to give the best of you to your family, friends, children, work and most importantly yourself.

This year I decided no more resolutions, I mean most of us last for about a month and then we roll back into the same habits. Instead I decided to make goals for the year. I took time out to make goals to hit and achieve and do things that make me happy, so that next year I don’t look back on the year in disappointment mainly at myself for failing to achieve what I wanted. Not to mention when I reach the end of the line I want to say I did what made me happy, I achieved my goals and I did all the things I had to. I mean we don’t really get second chances at life, this isn’t a rehearsal so you have to make it count.

There is more to life than just being a robot, so whether it’s on the train, on a Sunday afternoon or early Wednesday morning take 30 minutes or an hour to write down what you want for YOU. Not your family, children, work, but YOU. Then work on it, it might be that you want to read more books or a book. Well make a start, it might take a while to read it, but if that’s what you want and it makes you happy then do it. It might be that you want to go for a massage, then find a way to make the time. Look back on your list every month see if you have managed to do the things you want, if you haven’t then tomorrow’s another day to try again. Once the year comes to an end you will either be so proud of yourself for doing what made you happy, or you will be disappointed in yourself for not doing those things, which should hopefully push you to try harder the next time.

We know what we don’t want, we even know when we are not happy, but it takes real courage to map out what you do want and what does make you happy. So, do something for you this year, make yourself happy. You are so great at making others happy and you know this, so imagine how happy you could make yourself if you focused on you just a little?

bottom of page